Updated All-Time Utah Football Seasons

Utah football has played 129 seasons dating back to 1892.

The Utes have won 25 conference championships in five conferences during their history, and, as of the end of the 2021 season, they have a cumulative record of 691 wins, 469 losses, and 31 ties (.591).

The Utes have a record of 17–6 (.739) in major bowl games. Among Utah’s bowl appearances are two games from the Bowl Championship Series (BCS): the Fiesta Bowl and the Sugar Bowl.

In the 2005 Fiesta Bowl, Utah defeated the Pittsburgh Panthers 35–7, and in the 2009 Sugar Bowl, they defeated the Alabama Crimson Tide 31–17.

During those seasons, Utah was a member of the Mountain West Conference, whose champion does not receive an automatic invitation to a BCS bowl.

The Utes were the first team from a conference without an automatic bid to play in a BCS bowl game — colloquially known as being a BCS Buster — and the first BCS Buster to play in a second BCS Bowl.

The 2021 team earned both its first Pac-12 title and Rose Bowl appearance.

After a 26–17 loss to BYU, Utah posted an 8–1 record in conference play to win the South division before crushing Oregon 38–10 in the Pac-12 title game.

The table below includes season rundowns with Conference, WL record, win percentage, coach, and bowl game, if any, for each year

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: