SEC athletes make up half of the Bowerman watch list for women

9 hours ago
SEC staff

Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (January 5, 2022)—– Five female athletes from the Southeastern Conference were named to the preseason watch list for The Bowerman, according to a statement Wednesday from the US Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Named on the watchdog of the SEC were Texas A & M’s Tyra Gittens, LSU’s Lisa Gunnarsson, Florida’s Anna Hall and Jasmine Moore and Kentucky’s Abby Steiner.

Alabama’s Mercy Chelangat and Auburn’s Joyce Kimeli were listed among five people as also receiving votes.

A total of 10 athletes were admitted to the observation list on Wednesday. The men’s watch list will be published on Thursday.

Bowerman is the highest honor given to collegiate athletes by the most outstanding athletes of the year. A female athlete from the SEC has won Bowerman each of the last three times the award was presented: Georgia’s Keturah Orji in 2018, LSU’s Sha’Carri Richardson in 2019 and Texas A & M’s Athing Mu in 2021.

Bowerman will be presented in December at the annual USTFCCCA Convention, held in Denver.

Give a Comment