ODI team for SA Tour declared. Rahul appointed captain, Bumrah deputy.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul has been appointed deputy in Rohit Sharma’s absence.

ODI teams for SA Tour 2022 have been announced. In the absence of captain Rohit Sharma due to injury, KL Rahul has been appointed captain of the Indian ODI Cricket Team. The ODI team for the SA Tour includes a bunch of fresh players in the form of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Venkatesh Iyer, Washington Sundar and Mohammad Siraj. Ravichandran Ashwin has made a comeback to the ODI team for the SA Tour after last playing an ODI in 2017. Here is an in-depth look:

India’s ODI team for SA Tour:

KL Rahul (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Khuumh, Bhuvnes , Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj

Captain Rohit Sharma’s absence:

The absence of Indian first-choice captain Rohit Sharma is due to a left hamstring injury sustained by the player during a training session in Mumbai. That’s why Rohit has missed out on the ODI team for the SA Tour. “Rohit is still not quite in shape; he is in rehab. We have never wanted to take a chance with him if he is not 100% fit, ”said Chetan Sharma, the head of the selections, at a press conference.

In appointing KL Rahul as captain, Chetan Sharma said this: “We look at KL Rahul as a player in three formats and he has good experience with captain. He has proven his leadership qualities. That is what all voters think. When Rohit is not in form, we thought KL was the best to handle since. We have good faith in him and we take care of him. ”

New players in the ODI team for the SA Tour:

The fresher faces that have come to the team include Ruturaj Gaikwad and Venkatesh Iyer. Ruturaj had a unique Vijay Hazare Trophy with the bat for Maharashtra. And Venkatesh Iyer was the best player for Madhya Pradesh with both bat and ball. The absence of Hardik Pandya due to rehabilitation programs at the NCA justifies his choice.

Shikhar Dhawan, the senior Indian opening batsman, has received backing from voters even after having a mediocre Vijay Hazare Trophy scoring with an average of 10.2 per. match. But his recent international performances against Sri Lanka and England have given him his well-deserved place.

Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja carry injuries and will not be available for selection, Sharma said.

Other players to be considered for selection:

The other players who were considered for the selection were Shahrukh Khan, the finisher from Tamil Nadu, Ravi Bishnoi, the leg-spin maestro. Also Rishi Dhawan, the veteran who led HP to victory at the Vijay Hazare Trophy, and Avesh Khan, the smart bowler who gathers the good performances and tries to break the door to the national team. However, due to the timing of the trip and the upcoming schedule, the 4 were not selected.

Give a Comment